[속보] ‘Stop the inflow of Omicron’… Government restricts entry to 8 countries including South Africa

A woman passes by a TV repair shop in Cape Town, South Africa, on the 26th (local time). The World Health Organization (WHO) is in consultation with South African authorities regarding the detection of a new mutation ‘B.1.1.529.60’ of the novel coronavirus infection (COVID-19) in South Africa. As a result, a number of flights connecting South Africa and Europe have been suspended. yunhap news

The government has decided to deny entry to foreigners who have passed through eight African countries in order to prevent the influx of the new mutation ‘Omicron’, which is spreading in South Africa. Korean nationals entering through eight African countries will be quarantined in temporary living facilities for 10 days.

The Central Quarantine Countermeasures Headquarters announced the ‘Response Measures to Block the Inflow of the Corona 19 Omicron Mutant Virus into Korea’ at 11 pm on the 27th.

The World Health Organization (WHO) designated the new mutation ‘B.1.1.529’ in Botswana and spreading in South Africa as ‘Omicron’ as a ‘mutant of concern’. Accordingly, related ministries, such as the Korea Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (KCDC), participated in a meeting to evaluate the situation of Omicron mutations from 7 pm on the same day to discuss countermeasures.

From 00:00 on the 28th, the government has designated the countries with Omicron and the neighboring countries of eight African countries (South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique, and Malawi) as ‘Countries with enhanced quarantine’ and ‘Countries at risk’. ‘Countries exempt from quarantine’. The purpose is to thoroughly manage the entire process of inflow through restrictions on boarding flights, temporary isolation at living facilities during the arrival process, and strengthening of PCR (PCR).

In the case of arrivals from South Africa, they have been quarantined at temporary living facilities for 5 days and self-isolated for 5 days, and there are currently no direct flights between 8 African countries, including South Africa.

If eight countries, including South Africa, are designated as quarantine-strengthened countries, visa issuance is restricted. applies. By applying the strengthened quarantine exemption system to eight countries, it was decided to limit the issuance of visas to funerals, etc.

In addition, foreigners entering Korea through a stopover from eight countries, including South Africa, are restricted from boarding the aircraft by checking their passports during the check-in process.

From the 28th, Korean nationals from 8 countries including South Africa will be subject to quarantine at temporary living facilities for 10 days regardless of whether they are vaccinated or not. have to be tested

About 100 cases of Omicron have been confirmed, including 77 cases in South Africa and 19 cases in Botswana. The United States, Europe, Japan, and Singapore have decided to restrict travel to African countries or to block the entry of travelers from South Africa to prevent the inflow of omicron mutations.

Yuhwangu reporter



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.