Home Sports 10 wicket win! Oman celebrates T20 World Cup qualifier

10 wicket win! Oman celebrates T20 World Cup qualifier

by news dir

Muscat, First Published Oct 17, 2021, 6:31 PM IST

Muscat: Oman beat Papua New Guinea by 10 wickets in the first qualifier of the T20 World Cup 2021. Papua New Guinea chased down the target of 130 by Oman in 13.4 overs. Openers Jatinder Singh (73 off 42 balls) and Aqib Ilyas (50 off 43 balls) were unbeaten. The star of the match was Oman captain Zeeshan Maqsood, who had earlier beaten Papua New Guinea by four wickets.

This is the opening …

In reply, Oman batted easily towards the target. Openers Akhib Ilyas and Jatinder Singh scored 46 not out in the powerplay. The team score crossed 100 in the 12th over. Jatinder completed his half-century with a six. Elias then completed his fifty and Oman came close to winning by just five runs. Jatinder Oman hit a six off the next ball to give Oman a huge victory.

Papua New Guinea, who had earlier lost the toss and opted to bat, scored 129 for 9 in 20 overs after an early and final collapse. Papua New Guinea, who were 102-4 at one point, were shaken by Oman captain Zeeshan Maqsood, who took four wickets for 20 runs in four overs. Bilal Khan and Khalimullah took two wickets each.

‘Nothing is easy’; Sourav Ganguly warns India of T20 World Cup preparations

Oman won the toss and elected to bowl Papua New Guinea beat Oman to add two runs to the scoreboard. Bilal Khan bowled Tony Yura in the fifth ball of the first over of the innings. In the next over, Khaleem also bowled Lega Psyche. Psyche also failed to score runs. Skipper Azad Wala and Charles Amini added 79 for the third wicket to save Papua New Guinea.

Maqsood with the captain’s game

Oman were the only batsmen to break the tie in the 12th over of the innings. Amini, who scored 37 off 26 balls, was run out by Mohammad Nadeem. Despite scoring a half-century, Khalimullah bowled Azad in the first ball of the 15th over. Azad scored 56 off 43 balls. Captain and spinner Zeeshan Maqsood then struck a triple in the 16th over. Norman Vanuatu (1), Cese Bau (13) and Kiplin Doriga (0) were out in the first and third balls respectively.

Papua New Guinea fell 113-7. Bilal Khan bowled Simon Attai (3) in the last ball of the 17th over. In the second ball of the next over, Maqsood dismissed Damien Rao (1) for four. Kabua Moria (six) and Nozina Pocana (five) were unbeaten.

Win T20 World Cup for Virat Kohli; Suresh Raina to Indian players

Last Updated Oct 17, 2021, 6:40 PM IST


Related Articles

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.