| Australian Open: Men’s singles title for Djokovic

Melbourne: Serbia’s Novak Djokovic won the Australian Open Tennis Grand Slam men’s singles title. Joko won the title by defeating Greek player Stefanos Tsitsipas in straight sets. Score: 6-3, 7-6 (4), 7-6 (5). Joko’s 10th Australian Open title in his career. He won a total of 22 Grand Slams in his career. Joko also tied Rafael Nadal’s record for most Grand Slam titles by a male player. Joko was unable to compete here last season because he refused to take the Covid-19 virus vaccine. With the title win, the Serbian returned to the world number one position.

The match at Rod Laver Arena was similar to the final of the French Open in the 2021 season. The five-set battle ended with the score 6-7 (6), 2-6, 6-3, 6-2, 6 -4. The Serbs played with dominance from the start. Djokovic broke Tsitsipas’ serve early in the first set. Joko won the set 6-3. Tsitsipas showed a strong fight in the second set. The player played carefully without allowing a break of service. The second set was tied at 6-6 and went to a draw. Tsitsipas loses in the draw. With that, the second set is also his own for Joko. The third set also saw a hard fought battle. As a repeat of the second set, the third set went into a tie breaker. When Djokovic’s experience helped him under pressure, the Greek star could not hold back. He won the set 7-5.

Joko won the Australian Open in the 2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2019, 2020 and 2021 seasons. Six-time winner Roy Emerson of Australia is second. Emerson won in the 1961, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966 and 1967 seasons. Roger Federer of Switzerland also won the title six times. Federer won in the 2004, 2006, 2007, 2010, 2017 and 2018 seasons. Australian Jack Crawford won four times (1931, 1932, 1933, 1935). Australian Ken Rosewall also won this title four times (1953, 1955, 1971, 1972). US legend Andre Agassi also won the Australian Open four times. Agassi won the title in the 1995, 2000, 2001 and 2003 seasons.

After Djoko and Nadal, Roger Federer has won the most Grand Slam titles (20). Behind is Pete Sampras who won 14 Grand Slams. Tsitsipas said after the match that it was difficult for him to compete against the player who has played in 33 Grand Slam finals. This is the first time the Greek star has played in the Australian Open final. Lost in the semi-finals in 2019, 2021 and 2022. This is the star’s second Grand Slam final. In women’s doubles, the Czech team of Barbora Kryjikova and Katarina Siniakova won the title. Japan’s Shuko Aoyama and Ina Shibahara were defeated in the final. 6-4, 6-3.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.