Ban on entry: Kuwait Red List system restored

Kuwait has restored the red list system that was in place earlier to ban entry from various countries. Nine African countries have been added to the Red List following reports of a new strain of the corona virus. South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Lesotho, Swatani, Zambia and Malawi have been banned by the aviation department. Passengers from these countries will not be allowed to enter Kuwait for 14 days without being quarantined in another country.

As the virus spreads, more countries may be included in the Red List. It is also possible to review the Kovid expansion and change the list from time to time. Earlier, 43 countries, including India, were included in the red list. The Redlist system, which was eliminated following the improvement of the Kovid situation, was restored in the event that the Omicron variant was reported. Only passenger planes are prohibited. Freight aircraft will be serviced with restraint and vigilance. Currently, there are no direct flights from Kuwait to the banned countries. Therefore, the order, which came into effect on Sunday, will not make any significant difference to the operation of the airport. The DGCA’s decision is part of a precautionary measure to prevent the new virus from reaching Kuwait.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *