EC to set up election tribunals in 5 cities to settle disputes

The Election Commission (EC) has constituted an ‘Election Tribunal’ and an ‘Election Appeal Tribunal’ to resolve electoral disputes in Gazipur, Khulna, Barisal, Rajshahi and Sylhet City Corporation elections.

Deputy Secretary of EC Law Branch. A notification has been issued regarding the signing of Abduch Salam. It was informed in the notification that an election tribunal has been constituted with senior assistant judges of Gazipur, Khulna, Barisal, Rajshahi and Sylhet senior assistant judges. Apart from this, the Election Appellate Tribunal has been constituted with Additional District and Sessions Judges and Additional District Magistrates of First Courts of Gazipur, Khulna, Barisal, Rajshahi and Sylhet.

According to the law, if a complaint is filed by a candidate or an aggrieved person on his behalf within 30 days of publication of the poll results in the gazette, the tribunal will dispose of the complaint within 180 days. However, if not satisfied with the judgment of the Tribunal, an appeal can be made to the Appellate Tribunal. In this case too, an appeal must be filed within 30 days of the tribunal’s verdict. The Election Appellate Tribunal will dispose of the appeal within 180 days of filing the appeal.

Earlier, polling was held in Gazipur City Corporation on May 25. Apart from this, polling will be held in Khulna and Barisal on June 12 and Rajshahi and Sylhet cities on June 21.


You can also write on, a popular online news portal. Writing topics feature, travel, lifestyle, career, IT, agriculture and nature. Submit your essay today [email protected] at the address