IND vs AUS 3rd Test Day 1: Australia own the first day, India quit – IND vs AUS 3rd Test Day 1 Score Updates

Chasing India’s first innings score of 109, Australia ended the first day on 156-4.

IND vs AUS 3rd Test Day 1 Score Updates: Australia prevail in Border-Gavaskar Trophy 3rd Test vs India Chasing India’s first innings score of 109 runs, Australia are 156-4 at the end of the first day. Cameron Green (6*) and Peter Handscomb (7*) are at the top.

Australia lost the wicket of Travis Head for the first time and scored nine runs. With the score at 12, Ravindra Jadeja’s ball got stuck in front of the wicket. But then India could not establish the upper hand as expected. The Khawaja-Lebuschein partnership swung the bat cautiously.

The two added 96 runs for the second wicket. Jadeja broke the partnership by returning Lebusche who scored 31 runs. Soon Khawaja was also sent to the Jadeja Pavilion. Khawaja scored 60 runs off 147 balls. With just five overs to go on the first day, Jadeja got Steve Smith (26) at the hands of Bharat.

The Aussies made India fall into the spinning hole

The determination of the captain Rohit Sharma, he won the toss and chose to bat, was seen on the ground in Indore. The Indian batsmen were seen returning to the pavilion before realizing the nature of the pitch. India got a warning from Mitchell Starc in the very first over.

Rohit should have been out twice in Starc’s over. The only saving grace was Aussie captain Steve Smith’s reluctance to review. But when Smith brought in the spinners, things turned upside down. Rohit’s patience was tested as the boundaries kept coming in with ease and then the player threw the wicket away.

Alex Carey steamrolled Rohat (12) who came out of the crease off Mathew Kuhneman and tried for a boundary. Shubman Gill (21) also soon succumbed to Kuhneman’s power. Cheteshwar Pujara (1), Ravindra Jadeja (4) and Shreyas Iyer (0) returned quickly.

It was the Virat Kohli-Sreekar Bharat combination that pulled India out of the hole at 44-5. Both of them added 26 runs. Todd Murphy gave the Aussies a wicket by returning Kohli who scored 22 runs. Later, India collapsed like a house of cards.

Later, the hosts lost the wickets of Bharat (17), Ravichandran Ashwin (3), Umesh Yadav (17) and Mohammad Siraj (0). Axar Patel remained unbeaten on 12 runs. Kuhneman took five wickets, Nathan Lyon three and Murphy one.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.