lucknow super giants: Lucknow IPL team name announced; Excited fans – rpsg group reveals the name for lucknow ipl team


  • Lucknow is one of the newest teams in the IPL
  • The team is led by KL Rahul
  • Gautam Gambhir is the mentor of the team

The Pune-based squad for the Indian Premier League this year has been officially announced. The team owned by the RPSG Group will be known as the Lucknow Super Giants. Sanjeev Goenka, Chairman, RPSG Group, officially announced the name of the team this evening.

Lucknow is also owned by Rising Pune Super Giants, who previously played in the IPL in the 2015 and 2016 seasons. That is why they have given the Lucknow franchise a very similar name to the Pune franchise.

Pune (second team Gujarat Lions) were one of the teams to replace the Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings when they were banned from the IPL in the 2015 and 2016 seasons following an earlier spot-fixing controversy. In 2016, Pune was led by legendary Indian batsman Mahendra Singh Dhoni and in 2017 by Australian superstar Steve Smith. They have had a huge star base in both these seasons. Cricket fans are thrilled with the arrival of the new team, the Lucknow Giants, this time around.

Meanwhile, the RPSG Group, which had appointed former India opener Gautam Gambhir as its mentor following its acquisition of the Lucknow-based IPL franchise, had brought all the three superstars to the team before the auction. Indian star batsman KL Rahul, Australian star all – rounder Marcus Stones and Indian young spinner Ravi Bishnoi were among the lucky winners in the mega auction before the mega auction. Rahul will lead the team in this.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.