MLB Houston wins American League West for 2 consecutive years (overall)

Houston players pop champagne after winning the district championship for the second year in a row


(Seoul = Yonhap News) Reporter Jang Hyeon-gu = The Houston Astros have won the American League West Division for the second consecutive year.

Houston defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 4-0 at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Florida on the 20th (Korea time) to secure the district championship with a 97-51 season.

This is the second year in a row and the fifth district championship in the last six years. Houston lost to the Atlanta Braves in the World Series last year.

[그래픽]    2022 United States Professional Baseball Postseason Schedule
[그래픽] 2022 United States Professional Baseball Postseason Schedule

(Seoul = Yonhap News) Reporter Kim Young-eun = This year’s Major League Baseball (MLB) postseason begins on October 8 (Korea time).
The MLB Secretariat announced on the 16th the ‘Autumn Baseball’ schedule where 12 teams from the two major leagues participate.
Tweet @yonhap_graphics Facebook

Houston secures at least a 2 seed and goes straight to the Division Series (3 out of 5) without playing a wild card series (3 out of 3).

Houston’s three wins make it the fourth team in their career to reach 100 wins. Houston recorded over 100 wins in three years from 2017 to 2019.

The New York Mets, 1st in the Eastern Division of the National League, defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 7-2 on the same day and decided to play in the postseason for the first time in six years.

The two teams that have confirmed their MLB postseason appearances this year are the Houston and Mets, and the National League West Champion Los Angeles Dodgers.

Tampa Bay’s Korean hitter Choi Ji-man (31) was absent that day.

Report on KakaoTalk okjebo
< 更多代(c) 周年物利,
Unauthorized reproduction-redistribution prohibited>
2022/09/20 13:54 Send

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.