No one has a majority in Malaysia – Muhyiddin Yassin, Mahathir Mohamad, Malaysia | Malayalam News, World News | Manorama Online

KUALA LUMPUR – No one has a clear majority in Malaysia’s general election. Opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim is ahead with 82 federal seats, but the National Alliance led by former Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin, with the support of two regional parties, has come to power. The alliance got 73 seats in the parliament with 222 members. Two regional parties that won 32 seats in the island of Borneo have declared their support for the National Alliance. The Pan Malaysian Islamic Party (PAS), which won 49 seats, has also pledged its support to Yassin. PAS, which doubled its seats in the 2018 elections, has now become the single largest party.

The United Malay National Organization (UMNO), which was in power between 1957 and 2018 when Malaysia gained independence, suffered a heavy defeat in the elections. The alliance led by the current Prime Minister Ismail Sabri Yakub got only 30 seats. They may come as a minor ally in Yasin’s government.

Muhyiddin Yassin will take power today if King Abdullah Sultan Ahmed Shah approves it. In March 2020, Prime Minister Muhiuddin, who overthrew Anwar Ibrahim’s government with UMNO, resigned after 17 months due to factionalism in the coalition.

Big loss for Mahathir Mohamad

Dr who was the Prime Minister of Malaysia for 22 years. Mahathir Mohamad lost his first election. Mahathir, 97, was defeated in the Langkawi constituency by Datuk Suheimi Abdullah of the Perikatin Nasional (PN) coalition. Abdullah got 25,463 votes and Mahathir got only 4,566 votes. The deposit is also lost. Armisha Siraj from the BN alliance came second with 11,945 votes. In 2018, Mahathir received 34,527 (54.9%) votes.

Content highlights: Malaysia election result

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.