Home World Nobel Peace Prize laureates | 08Oct2021

Nobel Peace Prize laureates | 08Oct2021

by news dir

Stockholm: This year’s Nobel Peace Prize goes to two journalists who fought valiantly to protect freedom of expression. Philippine journalist Maria Ressa and Russian journalist Dmitry Muratov received the award. Maria is a journalist who has used her freedom of expression as a weapon to counter the growing dictatorship, exposing the abuses and violence in her home country through her news site, Roppler. Muratov is the co-founder and editor of the Russian newspaper Novaya Gazeta. Russia’s only newspaper, which has been critical of Vladimir Putin’s government, has been on a dangerous and challenging path for decades. The Nobel Committee considered the winners to be representatives of all journalists who stand for freedom of expression.

After the award ceremony, Maria responded that nothing is possible without facts. Maria is the first Nobel laureate from the Philippines and the only woman to have been awarded the Nobel Prize so far this year. Maria added that a world without facts is untrue and unreliable. Muratov said the award was “most relevant” at a time when journalists and the truth are being subjected to the most violence and denials. The prize money is Rs 8.5 crore.


Related Articles

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.