Home Entertainment ‘The first Korean actress Oscar’ Yun Yeo-jeong received the Golden Order of Cultural Merit at the Popular Culture and Arts Award

‘The first Korean actress Oscar’ Yun Yeo-jeong received the Golden Order of Cultural Merit at the Popular Culture and Arts Award

by news dir
Yoon Yeo-jeong (Photo=Academy SNS)

[이데일리 스타in 박미애 기자] Yoon Yeo-jeong, the first Korean actress to win an Oscar, will receive the Golden Crown of Culture, the highest decoration given to those who have contributed to culture.

The Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism (Minister Hwang Hee, hereafter referred to as the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism) will hold an awards ceremony for the ‘2021 Republic of Korea Popular Culture and Arts Award’ without spectators at the National Theater in Jung-gu, Seoul at 6 pm on the 28th.

Celebrating its 12th anniversary this year, the ‘Popular Culture and Arts Award’ is a prize that has contributed to the development of the popular culture and art industry by raising the social status and creative will of pop culture artists in various fields such as singers, actors, comedians, voice actors, broadcast writers, and performers. This is the most prestigious government award in the field of popular culture and arts, prepared to commemorate their achievements.

The Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism selects award-winning candidates through a public open call and expert recommendation, and comprehensively reviews a variety of factors, such as the work period, domestic and overseas activities, contribution to related industries, social contribution, and public reputation and recognition. A total of 29 people (teams) were selected, including 7 from the President, 7 from the Prime Minister, and 9 from the Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism.

At this awards ceremony, the Golden Crown of Cultural Merit will be awarded for the first time in the 12-year history of the Popular Culture and Arts Awards. The main character of the Golden Crown Order of Cultural Merit, which is the highest award given to people who have contributed to culture and art, is Yeo-jeong Yoon, who became the first Korean to win the Academy Award for Best Supporting Actress (Oscar) through the movie ‘Minari’.

The Eunkwan Order of Cultural Merit is awarded to Lee Jang-hee, a living legend of Korean folk and the ‘first-generation self-writer’ who caused the folk boom in the 1970s, and the late Lee Chun-yeon, a filmmaker who led the revival of the Korean film industry and a great star in Korean cinema.

The Medal of Archives Cultural Medal includes the late actor Song Jae-ho, who is called the ‘national father’ for his profound and heartbreaking acting, Park In-hwan, an actor who recently showed a new challenge in the drama ‘Navillera’, ‘The World They Live In’, ‘It’s Okay, That’s Love’, ‘Dear My Noh Hee-kyung, a drama writer who gained sympathy from all generations with stories of life and people such as ‘Friends’, was selected.

The Presidential Citation was awarded to actors Kim Young-chul, Jung Woo-sung, singer Kim Yeon-ja, Lee Jeok, Producer Kim Tae-ho of ‘Infinite Challenge’ and ‘What do you do when you play’, ‘Chief Kim’ and ‘Vincenzo’ writer Park Jae-beom, cartoons ‘Young-shim’ and ‘Run Hani’, etc. Choi Soo-min, a voice actor who has been active, won the award.

Seven recipients of the Prime Minister’s Commendation include actors Lee Jeong-eun, Han Ye-ri, singer Ung-san, performer Won-young Won, music director Moon-jeong Kim, voice actor Ahn Gyeong-jin, and artistic director Kim Seol-jin.

Nine members (teams) including group NCT DREAM, Oh My Girl, actors Je-hoon Lee, Jeong-se Oh, comedian Young-mi Ahn, voice actress Choi Deok-hee, performer Seo Young-do, performer Ko Sang-ji, and model Choi So-ra will receive a commendation from the Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism.

The awards ceremony will be broadcast live online through the YouTube channel ‘The K-POP’.


Related Articles

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.