Tribute to the President of the Constitutional Court – THE FIRST PRIVATE PRESS AGENCY IN TOGO

Faure Gnassingbé, greeting the family of the deceased…

A tribute was paid this Monday in Lomé to the President of the Constitutional Court, Aboudou Assouma, during a ceremony presided over by the Togolese Head of State Faure Gnassingbé.

Mr. Assouma died on May 26 following an illness at the age of 78. He is one of the great figures of the Togolese judiciary. The deceased has surveyed the mysteries of Togolese justice since his entry into the judiciary in 1977. He has left his mark on several institutions of the Republic, in particular the Constitutional Court. He is also known for his commitment to improving the African constitutional landscape.

“Aboudou Assouma was a great magistrate, a monument in the constitutional landscape of our country. His wisdom, his loyalty and his devotion to the constitution marked our country. He has been able to contribute to the consolidation of constitutional justice and to the positioning of the Constitutional Court within the institutions of the Republic as the guarantor of fundamental rights, stability and lever of democracy and social peace”, underlined Christian Trimua, Minister for Human Rights, Citizenship Training, Relations with the Institutions of the Republic.

Faure Gnassingbé, during the ceremony

Appointed to the post of President of the Constitutional Court in 2007 by the Togolese Head of State Faure Gnassingbé, Mr. Assouma was reappointed twice, in 2014 and 2019.

Former Public Prosecutor (1988 to 1991, Mr. Assouma was also Minister Delegate to the Prime Minister for Defense (January to June 1992).

Remember that the Constitutional Court is the highest jurisdiction of the State in constitutional matters. It is judge of the constitutionality of the law and guarantees the fundamental rights of the human person and public freedoms. It is the regulatory body for the functioning of the institutions and the activity of the public authorities.

According to the Constitution, the Institution is composed of nine members, but seven personalities sit there. The Senate, which should elect the other two, has not yet been installed. FIN

Edem Etonam IS GOOD


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.