What is the “solar system” and what does it consist of?

what is the solar system

The solar system is large compared to the world we live in. with the Sun as the center of the orbit of the other 8 large planets, including their satellites. The theory of the formation of the solar system is studied as follows.

Pierre Simon Laplace put forward his theory of the origin of the solar system in 1796, saying that in the solar system there is a mass of gas in the form of a flat disk. A gigantic size revolves around itself. As it revolves around itself, it shrinks. because of the gravitational attraction of the gas mass which will make the rotation rate around itself has a higher speed to maintain angular momentum (Angular Momentum). have a higher rate until the centrifugal force at the edge of the gas group exceeds the gravitational force. It will cause a ring of gas to separate from the center of the original gas group.

And as the contraction occurs again, the ring of gas groups will continue to increase. The rings that are separated from the center of each ring are not the same width. Occupies the area with the highest density of the band. will pull all objects in the ring come together and condense into a planet (ref rmutphysics)

What does the solar system consist of?

The Solar System has the center of the Sun with the orbits of 8 planets as satellites, namely:

1. Mercury

Mercury is the smallest planet in the solar system. closest to the sun

2. Venus (Venus)

Venus is the 3rd brightest planet after the Sun. 2nd away from the sun
3. Earth

Earth is the only planet in the solar system that has a favorable environment for living organisms. It is the 3rd farthest away from the sun.
4. Mars

Mars, the fourth planet, is the second smallest planet in the solar system.
5. Jupiter

Jupiter is the fifth planet from the Sun and the largest planet in the Solar System.
6. Saturn

Saturn is the planet next to Jupiter. It is the sixth planet from the Sun. And it’s the only planet with rings.
7. Uranus (Uranus)

Uranus is the seventh planet from the Sun. It is a gas planet. full of ammonia and methane
8. Neptune

Neptune is the last planet in the solar system away from the sun. Appearance with blue skin It is currently classified as a dwarf planet.

The Pluto Controversy removed from the solar system

Pluto used to be the ninth satellite in the Solar System. But on August 24, 2006, the International Astronomical Union’s (IAU) voted Pluto out of the solar system. and states that Pluto meets the criteria “Dwarf planet” only

solar system contains inner planets and outer planets that surround the sun with orbits measured light-years away. or the length of time that light travels in 1 year. The orbital distance determines which planet will be the inner or outer circle. Depending on the travel time of light from the sun to that star in 1 hour (Light Hours)

The picture shows the average distance. of outer planets from the sun, where Light Hours refers to the duration of light travel from the sun come to that planet (in hours) and Astronomical Units refer to distance in astronomical units (AU).

The planets in the solar system are divided into the following groups:

1. Classified by physical

  • Inner or Terrestrial Planets: will be a group of planets closer to the sun than the others It’s more of a cold planet. make a solid outer surface Like the surface of our planet, so-called Terrestrial Planets (meaning “on the earth”) include Mercury (Mercury), Venus (Venus), Earth (Earth) and Mars (Mars), which will use the band of The asteroid belt (Asteroid Belt) is a dividing line.
  • Outer planets (Outer or Jovian Planets): will be a group of planets that are farther from the sun than other groups It’s a planet that has just cooled. make the outer skin Mostly covered with gas, like the surface of Jupiter. Making them known as Jovian Planets (Jovian comes from Jupiter-like meaning similar to Jupiter) including Jupiter (Jupiter), Saturn (Saturn), Uranus (Uranus), Neptune (Neptune) and Pluto ( Pluto)

2. Divided by orbit

  • Inner planets Refers to the planets that are closer to the Sun than the Earth are Mercury and Venus.
  • Outer planets (Superior planets) Refers to the planets that are next to Earth: Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto.

3. Divided by texture

  • rock planet Including Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars, all four of these planets have a rocky solid surface. It is wrapped in a thin layer of atmosphere, except that Mercury, closest to the Sun, has no atmosphere.
  • gas planet including Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune are all gases. There may be a small rock core inside, so the surface is an atmosphere covered with methane, ammonia, hydrogen and helium.

What galaxy is the solar system in?

The solar system is in the Milky Way Galaxy, derived from the Latin Via Lactea, meaning milky way. The Milky Way galaxy is composed of dust and gas clusters, making it visible as a faint white band. across the night sky

The study of astronomers found that the Milky Way galaxy It is a spiral galaxy with beams. There are at least 200 billion stars and about 100,000 light-years in diameter and an average thickness of 1,000 light-years.

Our sun also orbits the Milky Way galaxy, taking 225 million years to complete its orbit. using a speed of 220 kilometers per second.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *