Entry ban from 11 African countries extended by 4 weeks… Singapore air ticket sales suspended

Incheon Airport Departure Hall [사진 제공: 연합뉴스]

As the Omicron mutation spreads rapidly around the world, the government has decided to maintain the entry ban on short-term foreign entrants from 11 African countries until February 3 next year.

The Central Quarantine Countermeasures Headquarters announced today that it has decided to extend the current Omicron mutation inflow control measures by four weeks.

The current measures were originally scheduled to end on the 6th of next month, but the government made this decision in consideration of the possibility of a sharp increase in overseas inflows during the Lunar New Year holiday, as a result of the increase in the number of imported Omicron confirmed cases and the analysis of domestic and international risks.

Accordingly, the entry ban for short-term foreigners from 11 African countries, including South Africa, will remain in effect until February 3 next year.

Direct flights from Ethiopia, except for irregular flights for the transportation of Koreans once a week, continue to be suspended, and ‘isolation exemption’ is not applied to those who have completed vaccination.

In addition, to minimize the influx of Omicron mutations, new sales of direct flights from Singapore to Korea will also be temporarily suspended from 00:00 today to midnight on January 20 next year.

However, quarantine exemption for those who boarded an airplane with an already booked ticket and came to Korea from Singapore will be maintained.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.