Smriti Mandhana wins ICC women’s Cricketer of the Year

The award is based on the best performance in 2021 in all formats

Indian opener Smriti Mandana has been named the ICC Woman Cricketer of the Year on Monday. Smriti was named Cricketer of the Year in 2021 on the basis of his outstanding performance in all formats.

The ICC said in a statement that Mandana was shortlisted for the award along with England’s Tommy Beaumont, South Africa’s Liselle Lee and Ireland’s Gabby Lewis for the award and the Rachel Haiho Flint Trophy.

2021 was a difficult year for India but it was a good year for Mandana.

In the limited overs series against South Africa at home, India won just two of the eight matches, while Mandana was instrumental in both the victories. In the second ODI, India chased down 158 runs for the loss of 80 runs. It helped to level the series. In the final T20I victory, Mandana scored 48 not out.

Also Read: Pakistan’s Babur Assam named ODI Player of the Year 2021

The 25-year-old played his best innings of 78 in the first innings of the ODI Test against England, which ended in a draw. They scored 49 runs in India’s only win in the ODI series.

In the T20 series, Smriti Mandana scored 29 off 15 balls and scored a half-century, but India lost both matches and lost the series 2-1. Smriti Mandana scored 86 in the second ODI.

She scored a brilliant century in a single Test (the first of her career) and was named Player of the Match.

In the final T20, she scored her second T20 Fifty this year. But India lost and lost the series 2-0.

He later scored his maiden century in the first pink ball format.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.